Olivia Rodrigo | Biografie

Biografie (2023)


September 8, 2023 – Santa Monica, CA – Today marks the highly anticipated release of GUTS — the sophomore album from multi-Platinum-selling three-time GRAMMY®-winner Olivia Rodrigo. One of the most highly awaited albums of the year, GUTS arrives as the follow-up to Rodrigo’s 4x Platinum 2021 full-length debut SOUR and features her No. 1 hit “vampire” and the new focus track “get him back!” Released via Geffen Records, GUTS is available to stream/download:
To celebrate the arrival of GUTS, Rodrigo is sharing a live performance video for the album-opening “all-american bitch”. See below for the full tracklist to GUTS.
Produced by her frequent collaborator Daniel Nigro and partly created at the legendary Electric Lady Studios in New York City, GUTS is a major leap forward in both the unbridled honesty of Rodrigo’s songwriting and the bold originality of her sound. The album has already won acclaim from leading outlets like the New York Times, who stated that “Olivia Rodrigo, pop’s brightest new hope, just may be a rock star” in a recent feature on the 20-year-old artist.
With the premiere of “vampire” in June, Rodrigo offered a powerful introduction to her newly expanded artistry and immediately earned countless accolades. To that end, The Atlantic noted that the piano-driven epic “pushes her confessional-pop appeal to a sizzling extreme,” while the Los Angeles Times deemed it a “feat of introspection scaled up to rock-operatic dimensions. It’s tragic; it’s exultant; it’s very, very promising.” Her biggest debut of all time on multiple platforms, “vampire” debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100, set the Spotify record for the biggest debut for a solo song in 2023, and ultimately shot to No. 1 at Top 40 Radio. Most recently, “vampire” reached the No. 1 spot on the UK Official Singles Chart — a turn of events that made Rodrigo the female artist with the most No. 1 singles in the UK this decade.  
Like “vampire,” GUTS’ second single “bad idea right?” was named a Best New Track by Pitchfork, who hailed the latter as “one of the best pop performances of the year.” Released last month alongside its B-movie-inspired video, “bad idea right?” also drew raves from the likes of Rolling Stone (who called it a “sugary headbanger”) and the New York Times (who praised the track as a “bright, kaleidoscopic head-rush of a pop song…” in its weekly column “The Playlist”).
GUTS arrives as Rodrigo gears up for her performance at the MTV VMAs 2023, airing next Tuesday at 8PM ET/PT. Directed by famed artist/director/photographer Petra Collins, the video for “vampire” received six nominations for this year’s VMAs, including Video of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Pop, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, and Song of the Summer. Collins previously earned a GRAMMY® nomination for her work on the video for Rodrigo’s 4x Platinum, Hot 100-topping “good 4 u” and also directed the videos for her 2x Platinum “brutal” and for “bad idea right?”
Thanks to the monumental success of “vampire” — and her 5x Platinum debut single “drivers license” — Rodrigo is now the first artist ever to debut the lead singles from two career-opening albums atop the Hot 100. She’s also the youngest artist in Hot 100 history to debut three hits at No. 1, while SOUR is the fastest album in history to have all its songs certified RIAA Platinum.
Exclusively available at Rodrigo’s online store, the vinyl version of GUTS is available in four colors: red, white, blue, and purple. In addition, an exclusive colored vinyl and CD (both with alternative cover and poster) are available at Target.
Tracklist for GUTS
1. all-american bitch
2. bad idea right?
3. vampire
4. lacy
5. ballad of a homeschooled girl
6. making the bed
7. logical
8. get him back!
9. love is embarrassing
10. the grudge
11. pretty isn’t pretty
12. teenage dream
Mehr von Olivia Rodrigo